TPPA Twitter Storm tomorrow (please share through your networks)

 TPPA Twitter Storm tomorrow SAY NO TO INVESTORS’ RIGHTS TO SUE!

The NZ-South Korea FTA will go before Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Select Committee on 30 April 2015, where they will discuss whether foreign investors should have the right to sue the NZ government when we change our laws.

Join our Twitter Storm, and send the members of that committee each a tweet telling them to reject ‘investor-state dispute settlement’ provisions in the NZ-Korea deal, in the TPPA, or any other agreement! Include the hashtags ‪#‎TPPANoDeal‬ and ‪#‎TPPANoWay‬ and @ItsOurFutureNZ will retweet!

Select Committee members are @MarkMitchellMP, @DrShaneRetiMP, @DavidBennettMP, @phil_goff, @KennedyGraham, @jamileeross, @DavidShearerMP, @TabuteauNZFirst (and throw in @johnkeypm and @AndrewLittleMP for good measure!)

Timezones:
NZ-time: 30 April @ 12pm
East Aus: 30 April @ 10am
Japan: 30 April @ 9am
West Aus, Malaysia, Singapore: 30 April @ 8am
East Daily Time: 29 April @ 8pm
Central Daily Time: 29 April @ 7pm
Mountain Daily Time: 29 April @ 6pm
Pacific US: 29 April @ 5pm

Unite to represent Amanda Bailey

 Unite to represent Amanda Bailey

28 April 2015

Source: Unite Union

Unite Union has agreed to represent Amanda Bailey, the waitress at the centre of the repeated harassment involving the Prime Minister. 
Amanda Bailey has sought support from Unite after being named as the author of an anonymous story for the Daily Blog last week describing how the Prime Minister had repeatedly pulled her ponytail over a period of months.
Unite will be advising Amanda on employment issues and assisting to resolve concerns about how her identity was revealed by the New Zealand Herald.
Amanda doesn’t wish to be interviewed and has stated that her two posts on the Daily Blog have documented her side of the story.
   

Media Release: Pokie takings down

Pokie takings down

Less money was spent on pub and club pokies in the first three months of 2015 compared with the last quarter of 2014, according to figures compiled by the Department of Internal Affairs.

 

Spending dropped from $210.1 million in the fourth quarter of 2014 to $193.2 million in the first quarter of 2015. This drop in spending between the fourth and first quarters of calendar years is in line with annual trends. 

     Non-casino GM spending by Society Type – January – March 2015

Society Type

Total GMP Quarter

% of Total

Non-Club

168,740,937.57

87.3%

Sports Clubs

3,784,091.32

2.0%

Chartered Clubs

14,759,122.79

8.2%

RSAs

5,930,608.97

3.1%

Total Club

24,473,823.08

12.7%

Total All

193,214,760.65

100.0%

 

The spending is captured through the electronic monitoring of non-casino gaming machines (EMS), which became fully operational in March 2007, enabling the Department to track and monitor operations, ensure the integrity of games and the accurate accounting of money. Licence holders between Q4 2014 and Q1 2015 were static at 312, venues declined from 1287 to 1277 and the number of gaming machines decreased from 16,717 to 16,614.

 

Further information, including numbers of venues, machines and expenditure by territorial authority and changes in the quarter, is available from the Department’s Gaming Statistics web page. The figures are based on territorial authority boundaries, including Auckland City.